Marshall Gilkes podcast, take two

December 6, 2007

Last month, I completed a podcast on Juilliard-trained jazz trombonist and composer Marshall Gilkes (read my introduction on Gilkes here). We chatted about the follow-up to his self-financed 2004 album, his training and influences and, as I have with other NYC musicians, his thoughts on the status of jazz music.

I used an external microphone on my Olympus digital recorder and stumbled into some sound feed problems despite testing the contraption at home–as you can hear from the occasional crackle, the mic was turned up too high during my interview (as this was my first stab at a podcast, I suppose that some technical issues were inevitable).

I edited the podcast using Audacity for Windows, and compiled a photo slide show using Windows MovieMaker. The pictures are courtesy of Gilkes, except a shot of the album’s back cover that I took using a Fujifilm digital camera, and a performance photo provided by Juilliard. The Michael Brecker photo is from Verve Music Group. The song on the background is Puddle Jumping, written and performed by Gilkes.

I welcome any feedback.

One Response to “Marshall Gilkes podcast, take two”


  1. […] unknown had some great ideas on this topic.You can read a snippet of the post here.I edited the podcast using Audacity for Windows, and compiled a photo slide show using Windows MovieMaker. The pictures are courtesy of Gilkes, except a shot of the album’s back cover that I took using a Fujifilm digital camera. … […]

Leave a Reply

